22rd Day – I will be his father and he will be my son

I will be his father, and he will be my son. I will never take my love away from him, as I took it away from your predecessor. I will set him over my house and my kingdom for ever; his throne will be established for ever.   — 1 Chronicles 17:13-14 (NIV)

That’s what the Lord has promised David when he asked the Lord to bless his son Solomon who would succeed to the throne. David is a faithful servant of God and God walked with him all through his kingship. David wasn’t a sinless saint, he had sometimes done what is evil in the eyes of God, but everytime he repented and took the punishment. God forgave him and even calls David as the ‘man after his heart’ because of his faithfulness. David knew that all he had came from God.He knew the kingdom of Israel cannot live without the blessing of God. So when he was about to die, what he concerned for the most was God’s promise of being the father of his son solomon. There wasn’t anything more important than knowing Solomon would be taken care of as the son of the Lord. And God gave him the promise.

But here God doesn’t just talk about King Solomon, he is talking about the other son of David—Jesus. “A Messiah will be born in the line of David”, that’s the prophecy of the birth of Jesus. In the beginning of the book of Matthew, it records a genealogy of Jesus the Messiah. There is 28 generations from David to the Messiah. The kingdom of Israel no longer exists, but that doesn’t mean God has broken his promise. The throne of his one and only son Jesus has been established for ever.

Tags: , , ,

About Graphic / Web designer

Hello, I'm a graphic & web designer living and working in Newcastle, a beautiful city in the northeast of UK. I collaborate mostly on web design and branding, but I'm experienced in building all kinds of quality, strategic design, both in print and on the web. I create cutting edge, clean, colourful, beautiful and exciting design. I love things with texture and colour, my goal is to make design alive with passion that will make you smile. Here are some of my recent works: Bitsy: www.bitsythis.com StartUp Saturday: www.startupsaturday.co.uk Delavals: www.delavals.com Enterprise Nation: www.enterprisenation.com Fisherbook: www.fisherbook.com Hello Eco Living: www.helloecoliving.com

Leave a Reply

